Siddal Moor Class of 2017 Awards Evening

Date published: 30 November 2017

Siddal Moor welcomed back former year 11 students to an awards ceremony on Thursday 23 November to formally recognise the successes of the year group.

Siddal Moor’s recently formed ‘Rock and Pop’ group, entertained guests with a vocal performance of Human by Rag ‘n’ Bone Man and Viva La Vida by Coldplay. 

Headteacher, Ray Baker spoke of the aspirations of the former year group and congratulated the prefect team who had worked above and beyond during their year in office as mentors to the younger students and ambassadors of the school.

He presented awards, accompanied by special guest Susan Hayes, who after 27 years service at Siddal Moor retires from school life at the end of this term.

36 awards were presented for attainment and endeavour in eighteen subject areas and the class of 2017 also received their formal GCSE certificates issued by the exam boards.

Numerous memorial and special awards were then presented for varying aspects of school life including achievement, outstanding service as a prefect, work experience, outstanding progress, the Chairman of Governor’s award, the Headteacher’s award and attendance.

Glynis Roberts attended to present the James Roberts memorial award for outstanding service as a prefect to Tyler Smith who had been an integral member of the prefect team.

This award is presented each year in memory of her son, a former Siddal Moor student, who died in a skiing accident in 2005.

The Joe Grieve memorial award for ‘Determination to succeed in Technology’, was presented for the second year in memory of Joe, a teacher of  technology at Siddal Moor who had given more than 40 years’ service to the school until his death in 2016. The award was presented by Joe’s granddaughter Hannah to award winner James McLeish.

Head and Deputy Head boys and girls and senior prefects were also presented with a memento of their year in office.

Other award winners included Rhian England, Grace Kelly, Abbie Templin, Kane Ashcroft, Rachel Archibald, Chloe Fairhurst, Isra Ahmed, Jessica Parkinson, Jamie Hamnett, Harrison Jacques, Aneesah Kayani, Adam Chidgey, Courtney Higginson and Courtney Shaw.

The evening closed with former Head Boy and Girl, Adam Chidgey and Isra Ahmed handing over the responsibilities to the current Head Boy and Girl, Gareth Payne and Abbie Evans.

Do you have a story for us?

Let us know by emailing
All contact will be treated in confidence.

To contact the Rochdale Online news desk, email or visit our news submission page.

To get the latest news on your desktop or mobile, follow Rochdale Online on Twitter and Facebook.