Cycling: Shaun Leonard pips Roy Nield to the East Lancs RC 10-mile time trial championship trophy

Date published: 16 May 2018

Shaun Leonard beat Roy Nield by just six seconds to pick up the East Lancs RC 10-mile time trial championship trophyon Saturday.

The course used is the L109 which is based on the dual carriageway Clitheroe by-pass, starting at the top of the hill near Sawrey and heads South West for five miles then returns back to Sawrey. 

The weather was ideal for time trialling with little or no wind, conducive to fast times.

The following times were recorded:

Shaun Leonard - 22:47 minutes
Roy Nield -  22:53 minutes
Jack Millar - 25:07 minutes
David Ireland - 25:14 minutes
David Trippier - 25:15 minutes
Karen Bailey - 26:27 minutes
Alex Trippier - 25:41 minutes

It was always going to be a close affair between Roy Neild and Shaun Leonard and so it proved with only six seconds separating them at the finish. 

Roy is a prolific time trialler usually competing in up to four events a week and he produced an excellent time, but Shaun was equally determined to go well and he pulled out all the stops to improve his personal best time for the distance by two minutes to pip Roy to the trophy.

In the junior category, East Lancs Jack Millar won the prize with an excellent ride. 

The overall event winner was Sam Anderton in a rapid time of 20:40 minutes.

To contact the Rochdale Online news desk, email or visit our news submission page.

To get the latest news on your desktop or mobile, follow Rochdale Online on Twitter and Facebook.